About us

Short presentation

The Social Science Policy Council (SSPC), a committee of the Swiss Academy for Humanities and Social Sciences,has launched an initiative with the goal of promoting qualitative social research in Switzerland.

Despite of their impressive research outputs qualitative methods still do not have the weight in science policy they actually merit. Moreover, the diversity of research approaches is mirrored by a fragmented scientific community. However, if qualitative researchers are willing to go beyond the frontiers of their own school and to unite with like-minded scientists they can become a significant group in regard to science policy.

Therefore the major goal of this initiative is the creation of a network of qualitative social scientists in Switzerland. The primary target group consists mainly of full professors and permanent lecturers in the different disciplines of the social sciences. A secondary target group consists of all social researchers that use qualitative methods.

By means of this network the following goals shall be achieved:

  • Transparency with regards to the activities of qualitative researchers: who is doing what where? Who is specialized in which methods? Who has which expertise and competences?
  • A consensus on minimal requirements regarding education and trainings in qualitative methods at Swiss universities;
  • A consensus on quality standards for qualitative social research;
  • The promotion of results and achievements by qualitative research in a broader public arena;
  • The creation of a proper infrastructure, such as the founding of an archive or a resource center for qualitative research.

Membership

If you are interested in actively participating in the network please get in contact with us.

Edit this entry.

A propos

Qui sommes-nous ? Brève présentation

Le Conseil science politique des sciences sociales de l’ASSH a lancé une initiative avec le but de promouvoir la recherche sociale qualitative en Suisse.

Malgré leurs résultats impressionnants, les méthodes qualitatives n’ont pas encore acquis l’importance qu’elles méritent au sein de la politique scientifique. En outre, la diversité des approches spécifiques de la recherche tend à se fragmenter également d’un point de vue social.

Cependant, si les chercheurs-euses orienté-e-s qualitatif sont décidé-e-s à dépasser les limites de leur école de pensée et à s’unir avec des scientifiques qui partagent les mêmes idées, ils peuvent alors prendre de l’importance au niveau de la politique scientifique.

C’est pourquoi le but principal de cette initiative est de créer un réseau de scientifiques spécialisé-e-s en recherche sociale qualitative en Suisse. Le groupe cible est constitué principalement de professeurs ordinaires et d’enseignant-e-s universitaires provenant des différentes disciplines des sciences sociales en Suisse. Un deuxième groupe cible est composé de tous les chercheurs-euses en sciences sociales qui applique des méthodes qualitatives.

Le réseau vise à réaliser les buts suivants dans le futur :

  • La transparence en ce qui concerne les activités des chercheurs-euses orienté-e-s qualitatif: qui fait quoi et où? Qui est spécialisé-e dans quelles méthodes? Qui possède quelles expertise et compétences?
  • Un consensus sur des exigences minimales concernant l’éducation et la formation en méthodes qualitatives dans les universités suisses;
  • Un consensus sur les normes de qualité pour la recherche sociale qualitative;
  • La promotion des prestations de la recherche qualitative à un plus large public;
  • La création d’une infrastructure adéquate, telle que la création d’une archive ou un centre de ressources pour la recherche qualitative.

adhésion

Si vous êtes intéressé à participer activement au réseau, entrez en contact avec nous.